Best field service software for small businesses
Some links on this site are affiliate links. If you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. It never changes what we recommend. How we make money.
Best picks by team size
- Just you: Jobber Core ($29-$49) or ServiceM8 (free up to 30 jobs)
- 2-4 people: ServiceM8, Kickserv Start or Tradify
- 5 people: Housecall Pro Essentials or Jobber Connect
- 5+ and growing: Service Fusion (flat, unlimited users)
The right tool for a small field service business is mostly about how the vendor charges against how your business is shaped. Here’s what a 1, 3 and 5-person team pays on each vendor’s published list price.
What you’d pay by team size (monthly billing, 29 Oct 2026)
| Tool | 1 person | 3 people | 5 people | How it charges |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ServiceM8 | $0-$29 | $29-$79 | $29-$79 | By jobs a month; unlimited users |
| Jobber | $49 (Core) | $199 (Connect 5) | $199 (Connect 5) | Plan + user bundles |
| Housecall Pro | $79 (Basic) | $189 (Essentials) | $189 (Essentials) | Plan + user bundles |
| Tradify | $47 (Lite) | $141 | $235 | Per user |
| Kickserv | $60 (Start) | $60 | $60 | Plan + user bundles |
| Service Fusion | $245 | $245 | $245 | Flat, unlimited users |
ServiceM8’s range depends on job volume: Starter covers 50 jobs a month, Growing 150. Annual billing lowers most of these; Jobber Core drops to $29 and Housecall Pro Basic to $59.
Features compared
| ServiceM8 | Jobber | Housecall Pro | Tradify | Kickserv | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lowest listed price | Free plan; paid from $29 · £25 · A$29/mo [source] | $29/mo (Core, billed annually) [source] | $59/mo (Basic, billed annually) [source] | $47 · £34 · A$48 per user/mo [source] | $60/mo (5 users) [source] |
| Free trial | 14 days [source] | 14 days, Grow plan features, no card [source] | 14 days, no card [source] | 14 days, all features, no card [source] | 30 days [source] |
| Free plan | Yes (Free plan: 1 user, 30 jobs/month) [source] | No (only trial mentioned) [source] | No [source] | No (subcontractors get a free version) [source] | No (only the trial) [source] |
| QuickBooks Online | Yes [source] | Yes (syncs customers, invoices, payments) [source] | Yes: 'QuickBooks Online sync' on Essentials and above (integrations page lists QuickBooks Desktop sync) [source] | QuickBooks sync (edition not stated) [source] | Yes (QuickBooks Online and QuickBooks Desktop) [source] |
| Xero | Yes (also MYOB) [source] | Yes per Jobber help centre: USA, CA, UK, AU, NZ, Connect and Grow plans; one-way sync Jobber to Xero (not on features page) [source] | No (not listed on integrations page) [source] | Yes (invoices, bills, payments, contacts) [source] | No (not listed) [source] |
| Online booking | Yes (all plans: clients get a price, pick a time, book) [source] | Yes (online booking with auto-scheduling and confirmations) [source] | Yes (24/7 online booking, all plans incl. Basic) [source] | No customer self-booking found; online enquiry forms only [source] | Yes (rules-based online scheduling) [source] |
| Card payments | Yes (mobile card payments, Tap to Pay, online card incl. Apple Pay, payment links) [source] | Yes (online payments included, Tap to Pay; ACH US only, auto-pay US and CA) [source] | Yes (card and bank payments, card reader, Instapay) [source] | No: online card payments via Stripe connection [source] | Digital payment options; Stripe integration (not stated as built-in) [source] |
| Customer financing | Not listed on vendor site [source] | Yes (Wisetack, in quotes) [source] | Yes ('Payments & consumer financing' on Basic; financing on every plan) [source] | Not listed on vendor site [source] | Not listed on vendor site [source] |
Read from each vendor's own website on 29 Oct 2026. Vendors change plans often: check before you buy.
What matters most for a small team
- One app for the whole job. Booking, quote, schedule, invoice, payment. All five tools above cover that.
- The tech app. If your crew won’t use it on site, nothing else matters. Use the free trial on a real week of jobs.
- Accounting sync. QuickBooks Online: all five (Housecall Pro from Essentials). Xero: ServiceM8, Tradify, Jobber (Connect+).
- The next hire. Check what your bill does when you go from 3 to 4 to 6 people.
Our take
- Fewest surprises on cost: ServiceM8 for low job volume, Service Fusion for a big team.
- Best all-rounder in the US: Jobber or Housecall Pro. See Jobber vs Housecall Pro.
- Best outside the US: ServiceM8 or Tradify. See ServiceM8 vs Tradify.
ServiceM8Plain link to the vendor. Affiliate link: placeholder until the program approves us. JobberPlain link to the vendor. Affiliate link: placeholder until the program approves us. Housecall ProPlain link to the vendor. Affiliate link: placeholder until the program approves us.
FAQ
What is the cheapest field service software for a small business?
On 29 Oct 2026 ServiceM8 had a free plan (1 user, 30 jobs a month) and paid plans from $29 a month with unlimited users. Jobber Core was $29 a month billed annually for one user. Kickserv Start was $60 a month for up to 5 users.
What should a small business look for in field service software?
Scheduling, quotes, invoices and card payments in one app; a mobile app your techs will actually use; sync with your accounting package (QuickBooks Online or Xero); and a price that doesn't jump when you add your third or sixth person.
Is per-user or per-job pricing better for a small team?
Per-job pricing (ServiceM8) suits teams with several people but modest job volume. Per-user pricing (Tradify) suits a small team doing lots of jobs. Plan bundles (Jobber, Housecall Pro, Kickserv) are cheapest when your headcount sits right at the bundle size.
Do I need ServiceTitan as a small business?
Usually not. ServiceTitan is quote-only and its own referral terms set a minimum of 3 technicians and an office employee. Most 1-5 person businesses start with a published-price tool.